You are here

Newb: Reading values from MPU-6050 (Accelerometer + Gyro) using I2C | Cypress Semiconductor

Newb: Reading values from MPU-6050 (Accelerometer + Gyro) using I2C

Summary: 5 Replies, Latest post by Bob Marlowe on 28 May 2014 04:45 AM PDT
Verified Answers: 0
Last post
VTW's picture
2 posts

I am really fresh when it comes to PSoC programming, I only have a little experience with arduino from some projects in the past.

My project now is to read out the RAW-values from the MPU-6050, which requires the use of I2C. I have never used this before, and I am struggeling with all the new commands, and how/when to use them.

All I want to do so far is to read the RAW-data and save them in different arrays.

I have attached a schematic of what I've made this far, but I am kind of stumbling in the dark at the moment.

VTW's picture
2 posts

Code (far from done):

#include <device.h>

void main()

/* Place your initialization/startup code here */

uint8 wrData;

uint8 rdData;

uint8 status;

uint8 readFlag;

uint8 breakp;

uint8 masterStatus;

uint8 temp;

I2C_1_EnableInt(); //Enables interrupt, which is required for most I2C operations.

wrData = 117; //Reg number

uint8 slaveAddress = 0x68;

#define WR_BUFFER_SIZE       (2u)

uint8 sample_segment[WR_BUFFER_SIZE];

/* CyGlobalIntEnable; */ /* Uncomment this line to enable global interrupts. */

status = I2C_1_MasterSendStart(slaveAddress, I2C_1_WRITE_XFER_MODE);

while (stats != I2C_1_MSTR_NO_ERROR);

if(status == I2C_1_MSTR_NO_ERROR) // Check if transfer is completed without errors

(uint8 *)sample_segment,

LCD_Char_PrintString("NO ERROR");

/* [] END OF FILE */

user_1377889's picture
9284 posts

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

At very first sight:

The I2C is interrupt-driven, so you MUST enable global interrupts.